Forums & Blog

A SmarterTools-sponsored community.
Welcome to Forums & Blog Sign in | Join | Help
in Search

SPF Failing

Last post 10-21-2008 2:15 PM by Tigerlady. 0 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (1 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 10-21-2008 2:15 PM

    SPF Failing

     I am having an issue with 1024x768 Normal 0 false false false EN-US X-NONE X-NONE /* Style Definitions */ table.MsoNormalTable {mso-style-name:"Table Normal"; mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0; mso-tstyle-colband-size:0; mso-style-noshow:yes; mso-style-priority:99; mso-style-qformat:yes; mso-style-parent:""; mso-padding-alt:0in 5.4pt 0in 5.4pt; mso-para-margin:0in; mso-para-margin-bottom:.0001pt; mso-pagination:widow-orphan; font-size:11.0pt; font-family:"Calibri","sans-serif"; mso-ascii-font-family:Calibri; mso-ascii-theme-font:minor-latin; mso-fareast-font-family:"Times New Roman"; mso-fareast-theme-font:minor-fareast; mso-hansi-font-family:Calibri; mso-hansi-theme-font:minor-latin;} MessageLabs and being able to receive mail from them. I don't really want to loosen my spf records but these emails are failing before ever getting to declude and being bounced back to the sender. below is the back and forth coorspondences we have been having.  Message labs says we are blocking them  I did add the domain to the whitelist for the user but it is still an issue.  it is like the spf filter is run before the whitelist.  I thought that the whitlist was run before any filters?  thank you.



            Thank you for contacting MessageLabs. I do not believe that SPF is
    what is causing the issue. You can try publishing the records in
    "soft" mode by changing the -all to ~all, to see if that will improve
    results. However, from the original bounceback message, it looks like
    the recipient mail server is simply rejecting connections from us due
    to IP. This will have to be fixed on their end.

    If you have any questions regarding this information, please do not
    hesitate to contact me by telephone or email. If I'm not available,
    one of my colleagues will be happy to assist you.


    Please be aware MessageLabs is wholly focused on improving your
    overall experience; to this end we would greatly appreciate receiving
    your feedback about our support process using the following URL:



    Kind Regards,
    _________________________________________
    Danny Lee
    Support Centre Analyst
    Global Client Support Centre



    -----Original Message-----

    Sent: Friday, October 17, 2008 3:29 PM
    To: Messagelabs_Support
    Subject: DL RE: NG 420478 FW: Email trouble

    Hi Gary,

    This is strange, when I run a check on the spf this is what I get.

    SPF lookup of sender user@sendingdomain.com from IP
    69.219.49.172:


    SPF string used: v=spf1 exists:%{ir}.nets.messagelabs.com.
    Processing SPF string: v=spf1 include:spf.messagelabs.com -all.
    Testing 'include:spf.messagelabs.com' on IP=69.219.49.172, target
    domain spf.messagelabs.com, CIDR 32, default=PASS.
    include: including SPF at spf.messagelabs.com.
    Processing SPF string: v=spf1
    exists:%{ir}.nets.messagelabs.com.
    Testing 'exists:%{ir}.nets.messagelabs.com' on IP=69.219.49.172,
    target domain 172.49.219.69.nets.messagelabs.com, CIDR 32,
    default=PASS.
    exists: macro expands to
    172.49.219.69.nets.messagelabs.com.  No match.
    No match.
    Testing 'all' on IP=69.219.49.172, target domain sendingdomain.com, CIDR
    32, default=FAIL.  MATCH!

    Result: FAIL

    -----Original Message-----
    From: Messagelabs_Support [mailto:support@messagelabs.com]
    Sent: Friday, October 17, 2008 2:27 PM

    Subject: RE: NG 420478 FW: Email trouble

    Hello Robert,

    There are our logs for the bounced email you provided me with.

    Delivery Results - Tower 172, Server 4
    2008-10-16 19:44:32.191643500    new msg 8176866
    2008-10-16 19:44:32.191644500    info msg 8176866: bytes
    5081 from
    <CHRISTIG@sendingdomain.comqp 15645 uid 1001
    2008-10-16 19:44:32.191659500    ref msg 8176866:
    server-4.tower-172.messagelabs.com!1224186270!24642997!1
    2008-10-16 19:44:32.191803500    starting delivery 145474:
    msg 8176866
    to remote andrea@receivingdomain.com
    2008-10-16 19:44:33.055774500    delivery 145474: failure:
    Connected_to_63.246.6.7_but_sender_was_rejected./Remote_host_said:_554
    _S ending_address_not_accepted_due_to_spam_filter/
    2008-10-16 19:44:33.058831500    bounce msg 8176866 qp
    15714
    2008-10-16 19:44:33.058887500    end msg 8176866


    This is a test I did from tower 172, it seems like the recipient is
    blocking MessageLabs Ips or throttling connections from us.

    Connected to 63.246.6.7

    <<< [220] mail.myserver.net
    >>EHLO server-2.tower-172.messagelabs.com
    <<< [250] mail.myserver.net Hello [216.82.254.3] <<< [250] SIZE
    104857600 <<< [250] AUTH LOGIN CRAM-MD5 <<< [250] OK
    >>MAIL FROM: <noreply@messagelabs.com>
    <<< [250] OK <noreply@messagelabs.comSender ok
    >>RCPT TO: <andrea@receivingdomain.com>
    <<< [451] Greylisted, please try again in 900 seconds


    Please have the recipient verify they are not blocking
    MessageLabs.

    Kind Regards,



    Nery Gonzalez
    Support Centre Analyst
    Global Client Support Centre
    MessageLabs INC.




    -----Original Message-----
    From:  [mailto:BOBT@sendingdomain.com]
    Sent: 17 October 2008 14:40
    To: Messagelabs_Support
    Subject: NG 420478 FW: Email trouble

     From Bob Thomas

    -----Original Message-----
    From: Christi Gaido
    Sent: Friday, October 17, 2008 9:24 AM
    To:
    Subject: Email trouble

    Bob, do we use message labs?  I've been having a
    problem sending e-mails
    to our printer. We've been trying to solve this problem
    for over a week
    (returned e-mail says it's due to "spam
    filter").  

    Message from their server company:
    >>From our end they are wide open but I think the
    real bottleneck is at
    >>message labs.  If they have an IT department please
    have her speak to
    >>them or have them call me so we can get this sorted
    out.<<
    You can see their message below.

    Any idea what the problem is?

    The e-mails I send are to andrea@receivingdomain.com and
    jvenard@receivingdomain.com. I've been sending to them for
    a couple years
    with no problems... Now my emails are always returned.

    Thanks,
    Christi




    -----Original Message-----
    From: Andrea Gronowski [mailto:andrea@receivingdomain.com]
    Sent: Friday, October 17, 2008 8:44 AM
    To: Christi Gaido
    Subject: FW: Ack!

    Christi,

    See below...ONE DAY we'll figure this out!!!

    Sorry! :(
    Andrea

    -----Original Message-----
    From: Barbara ONeal [mailto:barbara@myserver.com]
    Sent: Friday, October 17, 2008 9:03 AM
    To: 'Andrea Gronowski'
    Subject: RE: Ack!

    Andrea,

    After heavy research on this I believe the rejection is
    coming from
    messagelabs.com  Ask Christi if they use message labs to
    manage their
    outgoing mail service.  From our end they are wide open but
    I think the
    real bottleneck is at message labs.  If they have an IT
    department
    please have her speak to them or have them call me so we
    can get this
    sorted out.

    Thank you.




    -----Original Message-----
    From: Andrea Gronowski [mailto:andrea@receivingdomain.com]
    Sent: Thursday, October 16, 2008 3:08 PM
    To: barbara@myserver.com
    Subject: FW: Ack!



    -----Original Message-----
    From: christi@gaidodesign.com
    [mailto:christi@gaidodesign.com]
    Sent: Thursday, October 16, 2008 2:46 PM
    To: andrea@receivingdomain.com
    Subject: Ack!

    Still came back. Below is the ENTIRE message I get. Maybe
    it will help:

    This is the mail delivery agent at messagelabs.com.

    I was not able to deliver your message to the following
    addresses.

    <andrea@receivingdomain.com>:

    Connected to 63.246.6.7 but sender was rejected.

    Remote host said: 554 Sending address not accepted due to
    spam filter

    --- Below this line is a copy of the message.

    Return-Path: <CHRISTIG@sendingdomain.com>

    X-VirusChecked: Checked

    X-Env-Sender: CHRISTIG@sendingdomain.com

    X-Msg-Ref:
    server-4.tower-172.messagelabs.com!1224186270!24642997!1

    X-StarScan-Version: 5.5.12.14.2; banners=-,-,-

    X-Originating-IP: [69.219.49.172]

    Received: (qmail 15645 invoked from network); 16 Oct 2008
    19:44:31 -0000

    Received: from adsl-69-219-49-172.dsl.chcgil.ameritech.net
    (HELO
    mail.sendingdomain.com) (69.219.49.172)

    by server-4.tower-172.messagelabs.com with SMTP; 16 Oct
    2008 19:44:31
    -0000

    Ms. Barbara S. ONeal
    President/Co-Founder
    Centric Web®, Inc.
    http://www.centricweb.com
    Filed under: ,
Page 1 of 1 (1 items)